When cities turn up unknown but they are in the DB

General Discussion about IP Address Lookup caveats, technology, ideas, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

When cities turn up unknown but they are in the DB

Postby impactorange on Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:05 am

I am playing around with a copy of the db on my own server. I noticed that both on my server and on hostip.info, an IP address associated with Hamilton, ON turns up "unknown" even though it is in the cities list. I imagine this would happen with other cities too.

URL:
http://www.hostip.info/api/get.html?ip= ... ition=true

This returns an unknown city.

Upon further investigation, somehow $info["city"] (in /lib/iplookup.php) becomes 0 instead of the actual city number. When I print the $sql string out, it's totally fine. If I take this exact string into sql, it returns results.

Any idea why the city would become 0 instead of using the value from mysql?

Thanks for your help!
impactorange
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:19 am

Postby Teo on Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:57 pm

Hostip geo data is a building project.

Here you can see than 45% of datas are wrong or missing

Image
Teo
n00b
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:27 pm

bug

Postby Zyron on Mon Nov 07, 2005 1:38 pm

I have a local working copy, updated october.

It detects this ip:
84.174.222.89 as Giessen, GERMANY

but report unknown at hostip.info :roll:
Zyron
Expert
 

Postby Guest on Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:27 pm

Avoid to ask quality in a communoty project where everybody take without to give.

use all datas but no update, no correction is the BIG word.
Guest
Expert
 


Return to IP Address Lookup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

cron