Page 1 of 1

i p trace and i p changing

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 2:10 pm
by Whipsnay
:lol: I am new and I noticed that someone gave an IP number, asked and got a location. Does that mean if I gave you an IP number you can tell where that computer is? also the addrs?

Also can an IP number be changed? I am being blocked :oops: from a site and am trying to figure how to get back on without going to the library or getting a new computer. Thanx. J

PS. I placed a poll question and if it is not what a poll question :? is supposed to be then please forgive me. I am new here..Thanx

Speaking of the poll--this may be replied to from what I asked above but can you tell if the IP is a library, a person (including their name) or would NJ.COM have no idea if they are blocking a public library, personal or buss. computer?

Thanx Again J

Re: i p trace and i p changing

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 8:49 am
by bfolkens
Whipsnay wrote::lol: I am new and I noticed that someone gave an IP number, asked and got a location. Does that mean if I gave you an IP number you can tell where that computer is? also the addrs?


Yes, for the most part (though not the address)

Whipsnay wrote:Also can an IP number be changed? I am being blocked :oops: from a site and am trying to figure how to get back on without going to the library or getting a new computer.


If you're getting your address from your provider automatically it'll renew after a period of time (or with some providers every time you re-connect). Getting a new computer is unncessasary since an IP address is a function of your TCP/IP connection, not your computer.

Whipsnay wrote:Speaking of the poll--this may be replied to from what I asked above but can you tell if the IP is a library, a person (including their name) or would NJ.COM have no idea if they are blocking a public library, personal or buss. computer?


They might have some idea if they really dug around enough to find out. It depends on them though...

I P number from provider

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 12:25 am
by Whipsnay
Thanx for getting back.

I have verizon DSL. I can go on thru what is called an LAN and get on the web via Explorer. If I go to the site I was blocked from I can not post (LAN/Explorer/NJ.COM). But if I close my Explorer window and while the LAN is still enabled I open verizon, hit connect, and open Explorer, I can now post (LAN/Verizion/Explorer/NJ.COM). Does that mean that I have 2 I. Ps, one for the DSL line that is always there and with LAN connected and another when I go thru verizion? And if instead of useing Explorer I sign in to MSN.com does that mean I have another I.P addrs. (LAN/Verizion/MSN/NJ.com)? Thanx and if it sounds complicated to you imagine how I feel. :roll:

Re: I P number from provider

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 7:26 am
by robocoder
Yes, it sounds like you have 2 IPs. When you "hit connect", you're using your dial-up connection. It's conceivable that Verizon allocates different blocks of IPs for these services (ADSL vs dial-up).

How or why NJ.COM is blocking you from posting is something NJ.com would have to answer. (For example, there may have been some abuse of the system.)

Thanx..

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 8:36 am
by Whipsnay
Thanx for the info. :D J