Page 1 of 1

Incorrectly geocoding my City

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:25 pm
by mark
I've tried to add my IP (202.173.156.87) to the database. I've said that I'm based in Fitzroy, Australia. It turns out there is another Fitzroy in Australia and its choosing the wrong one. There needs to be some way to enter more detailed information to clarify the dataset.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:27 pm
by hostip
Thanks for noticing some issues with the cities, we're working on getting that fixed.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:19 am
by gsmb
I too possibly have the same problem. but in Nantong, China.


I do not think that there is another Nantong though, the one I refer to is near Shanghai. see this map

a known IP in Nantong for testing is: 218.91.164.87

the interactive map places me incorrectly near Tiawan.

perhaps a state/province/region dropdown choice should be added to prevent??

any others anyone?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 11:56 am
by bfolkens
gsmb + mark,

That's where we're headed - until this point, state/province/region was only required for locations in the united states. But we're going to expand the infrastructure soon to use them for all locations.

Stay tuned .... ;)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 12:06 pm
by alexramos
Any news about this? Mexican cities are also placed incorrectly on the map

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:26 am
by bfolkens
alexramos wrote:Any news about this? Mexican cities are also placed incorrectly on the map



If a city is placed in the wrong location, send me an email and I'll update the lat+lon coords...

PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 7:01 am
by robocoder
Can we get a progress update on adding provinces for Canada? I noticed if I use Richmond, the map shows me Richmond, Ontario (a rural town) instead of the City of Richmond (in BC).

Update: there's also Richmond, QC and Richmond, PE. =P

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:54 am
by gaRFio
That's where we're headed - until this point, state/province/region was only required for locations in the united states. But we're going to expand the infrastructure soon to use them for all locations.

Stay tuned ....


Very good idea. The province/region expansion will be an important improvemente for the database.