Page 1 of 1

HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 1:36 pm
by zoriv
I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 7:43 am
by bfolkens
zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 12:00 pm
by zoriv
bfolkens wrote:
zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...


Is this yr answer?If it is, unfortunately Idon,t know yet, why HostIP.info Geolocation ... doesn't work on my PC. I uninstalled it and installed again but withouot any results. :(

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 6:51 am
by bfolkens
zoriv wrote:
bfolkens wrote:
zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...


Is this yr answer?If it is, unfortunately Idon,t know yet, why HostIP.info Geolocation ... doesn't work on my PC. I uninstalled it and installed again but withouot any results. :(


Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:37 pm
by Joev
bfolkens wrote:Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?


in my case, JavaScript is enabled. I get a variety of errors when i bring up the console:

Code: Select all
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.3.0_02
Using JRE version 1.3.0_02 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\KMTK1243

----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
q:   hide console
s:   dump system properties
t:   dump thread list
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------

java.security.PrivilegedActionException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission www.hostip.info resolve)

   at java.security.AccessControlContext.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkConnect(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getByName(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.PrivilegedCallMethodAction.run(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.SecureInvocation.CallMethod(Unknown Source)

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:29 pm
by bfolkens
Joev wrote:
bfolkens wrote:Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?


in my case, JavaScript is enabled. I get a variety of errors when i bring up the console:

Code: Select all
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.3.0_02
Using JRE version 1.3.0_02 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\KMTK1243

----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
q:   hide console
s:   dump system properties
t:   dump thread list
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------

java.security.PrivilegedActionException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission www.hostip.info resolve)

   at java.security.AccessControlContext.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkConnect(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getByName(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.PrivilegedCallMethodAction.run(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.SecureInvocation.CallMethod(Unknown Source)


That's strange - the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM... Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again. Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:45 am
by Joev
That's strange

aye!
- the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM...

on a hunch, i disabled Java and no surprise, it didn't invoke--but it still didn't work either.
Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again.

gave that a shot and extension didn't work.
Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...

doh! played around switching on and off and nothing ever showed up in the console under errors, messages, etc.
i feel like a mutant firefox user now... :(

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:13 pm
by bfolkens
Joev wrote:
That's strange

aye!
- the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM...

on a hunch, i disabled Java and no surprise, it didn't invoke--but it still didn't work either.
Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again.

gave that a shot and extension didn't work.
Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...

doh! played around switching on and off and nothing ever showed up in the console under errors, messages, etc.
i feel like a mutant firefox user now... :(


You using deer park alpha?

1-ClickWeather conflicts with hostip

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:08 am
by thom0522
I had the same problem with hostip working. I went through and checked all extensions I had installed and found that 1-ClickWeather conflicts with hostip. There my be other extension that cause a problem as well but this is the only one I was using which when installed caused hostip to stop working. Hope this helps others who have this problem. :D

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:27 am
by Teo
Since some weeks (around 1 month), I have seen than new updates of sun java have several problems.
My old java applets have more lags, more problems to load, people have more problems to dowload them.

Maybe desactivate the sun java to keep the old microsoft java plugin.

Version doesn't work

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 10:35 am
by Pantherman63
I downloaded the plugin, but an error message pops up saying to the effect that 0.3.1 couldn't be installed with Firefox 1.5.0.3 because it works on v.0.9 - 1.4.1 only.

My question is this, is there a plugin version that will work on my PC that has Firefox 1.5.0.3 cuz that is what is being used...the most recent version available???

Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 11:35 am
by robocoder
Try the HostIP.info Geolocation extension from the Firefox Add-ons site:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/663/

It appears to be newer than the one linked from hostip.info's main page.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:40 pm
by bfolkens
robocoder wrote:Try the HostIP.info Geolocation extension from the Firefox Add-ons site:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/663/

It appears to be newer than the one linked from hostip.info's main page.


fixed