Page 1 of 1

Bug with Santiago, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:51 am
by Zazz
Not sure where to put this, but here it is.

Apparently there are multiple cities called "Santiago" in the universe. Looking up the location of "66.163.69.69" places it in Santiago, Canada -- but the given latitude and longitude are at the bottom of south america!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 8:59 am
by robocoder
Well, there is no SANTIAGO in Canada, and that IP belongs to Shaw (which operates throughout Western Canada).

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 5:13 pm
by Zazz
Any idea how to get a more accurate location for a shawcable address?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 1:15 pm
by robocoder
Try an IP number to hostname lookup, or tracert (traceroute).

Currently, that IP resolves to rd1bb-pos15-0.vc.shawcable.net. Best guess is Greater Vancouver.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:40 pm
by Zazz
Thank you. That seems about right, judging by http://www.smr-usenet.com/tech/shaw.shtml and http://reaper.fudo.org/net/shawcable.html.

I think it'd be cool to integrate this kind of matching into something like hostip. It already has a massive database of ips compared to locations; I wonder if these kinds of reverse-dns-to-region associations could be automatically verified or even automatically generated from it some day, some how.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:10 am
by robocoder
Automatic verification isn't going to be 100%. Case in point: although I'm in Toronto, I may be assigned an IP that resolves to: hse-mtl-ppp12345.qc.sympatico.ca ... I'm certainly no where near Montreal, Quebec.