How to correct data

General Discussion about IP Address Lookup caveats, technology, ideas, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

How to correct data

Postby hcarsten on Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:53 am

I had a first look at the quality of the data (cities in Germany).
Looking at the database there are currently only 465 cities and a lot of duplicates. Mainly there are typos and different spellings (regarding Umlauts).

We are planning to integrate at IP.Geolocation to one of our services and we would like to use your data anyway we would also like to improve the data !

Is there any way to contribute correction and new data (IP-ranges) in a defined way ? Do you already have any contributions from ISPs in Germany (e.g. Deutsche Telekom etc. )

regards

Carsten
hcarsten
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:46 am

Re: How to correct data

Postby bfolkens on Fri Jul 08, 2005 8:33 am

hcarsten wrote:I had a first look at the quality of the data (cities in Germany).
Looking at the database there are currently only 465 cities and a lot of duplicates. Mainly there are typos and different spellings (regarding Umlauts).

We are planning to integrate at IP.Geolocation to one of our services and we would like to use your data anyway we would also like to improve the data !

Is there any way to contribute correction and new data (IP-ranges) in a defined way ? Do you already have any contributions from ISPs in Germany (e.g. Deutsche Telekom etc. )

regards

Carsten


There are 2 main ways to contribute data corrections, one is using the bulk (netblock) correction tool found on the home page (there's a link there) and the other link on the homepage as well will correct 1 address. So you have a choice between the many-or-one

We're considering other "automated" ways of data correction from trusted sources as well (such as ISPs, etc)
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am


Return to IP Address Lookup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron