HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Questions about hostip.info remote GET support.

Moderator: Moderators

HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby zoriv on Mon May 23, 2005 1:36 pm

I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.
zoriv
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 1:05 pm

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby bfolkens on Wed May 25, 2005 7:43 am

zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby zoriv on Wed May 25, 2005 12:00 pm

bfolkens wrote:
zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...


Is this yr answer?If it is, unfortunately Idon,t know yet, why HostIP.info Geolocation ... doesn't work on my PC. I uninstalled it and installed again but withouot any results. :(
zoriv
n00b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 1:05 pm

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby bfolkens on Fri May 27, 2005 6:51 am

zoriv wrote:
bfolkens wrote:
zoriv wrote:I'm afraid that HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work on my PC, allthough I installed couple of times. When I hover to any hypperling it doesn't display anything. The second symptom that doesn't work is the options are inactive while in the other extension the option are active.
I should be very appreciated if you help to solve this issue and run this very useful extension.


I wonder if there are any other extensions you might have installed that are conflicting...


Is this yr answer?If it is, unfortunately Idon,t know yet, why HostIP.info Geolocation ... doesn't work on my PC. I uninstalled it and installed again but withouot any results. :(


Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby Joev on Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:37 pm

bfolkens wrote:Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?


in my case, JavaScript is enabled. I get a variety of errors when i bring up the console:

Code: Select all
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.3.0_02
Using JRE version 1.3.0_02 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\KMTK1243

----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
q:   hide console
s:   dump system properties
t:   dump thread list
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------

java.security.PrivilegedActionException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission www.hostip.info resolve)

   at java.security.AccessControlContext.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkConnect(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getByName(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.PrivilegedCallMethodAction.run(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.SecureInvocation.CallMethod(Unknown Source)
Joev
Expert
 

Re: HostIP.info Geolocation Plugin v.0.2 doesn't work

Postby bfolkens on Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:29 pm

Joev wrote:
bfolkens wrote:Just a quick check - JavaScript is turned on right?


in my case, JavaScript is enabled. I get a variety of errors when i bring up the console:

Code: Select all
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.3.0_02
Using JRE version 1.3.0_02 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\KMTK1243

----------------------------------------------------
c:   clear console window
f:   finalize objects on finalization queue
g:   garbage collect
h:   display this help message
l:   dump classloader list
m:   print memory usage
q:   hide console
s:   dump system properties
t:   dump thread list
x:   clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------

java.security.PrivilegedActionException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission www.hostip.info resolve)

   at java.security.AccessControlContext.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkPermission(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkConnect(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName0(Unknown Source)

   at java.net.InetAddress.getByName(Unknown Source)

   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.PrivilegedCallMethodAction.run(Unknown Source)

   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

   at sun.plugin.liveconnect.SecureInvocation.CallMethod(Unknown Source)


That's strange - the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM... Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again. Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am

Postby Joev on Mon Aug 22, 2005 9:45 am

That's strange

aye!
- the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM...

on a hunch, i disabled Java and no surprise, it didn't invoke--but it still didn't work either.
Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again.

gave that a shot and extension didn't work.
Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...

doh! played around switching on and off and nothing ever showed up in the console under errors, messages, etc.
i feel like a mutant firefox user now... :(
Joev
Expert
 

Postby bfolkens on Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:13 pm

Joev wrote:
That's strange

aye!
- the firefox plugin shouldn't be invoking the JVM...

on a hunch, i disabled Java and no surprise, it didn't invoke--but it still didn't work either.
Try disabling the Java plugin first, restart firefox, then try the plugin again.

gave that a shot and extension didn't work.
Also, the console you would want is in Tools -> JavaScript Console...

doh! played around switching on and off and nothing ever showed up in the console under errors, messages, etc.
i feel like a mutant firefox user now... :(


You using deer park alpha?
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am

1-ClickWeather conflicts with hostip

Postby thom0522 on Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:08 am

I had the same problem with hostip working. I went through and checked all extensions I had installed and found that 1-ClickWeather conflicts with hostip. There my be other extension that cause a problem as well but this is the only one I was using which when installed caused hostip to stop working. Hope this helps others who have this problem. :D
thom0522
Expert
 

Postby Teo on Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:27 am

Since some weeks (around 1 month), I have seen than new updates of sun java have several problems.
My old java applets have more lags, more problems to load, people have more problems to dowload them.

Maybe desactivate the sun java to keep the old microsoft java plugin.
Teo
Expert
 

Version doesn't work

Postby Pantherman63 on Thu May 25, 2006 10:35 am

I downloaded the plugin, but an error message pops up saying to the effect that 0.3.1 couldn't be installed with Firefox 1.5.0.3 because it works on v.0.9 - 1.4.1 only.

My question is this, is there a plugin version that will work on my PC that has Firefox 1.5.0.3 cuz that is what is being used...the most recent version available???

Thanks!
If you stand for nothing,
you'll fall for anything.
Pantherman63
n00b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 5:10 pm
Location: Southern Tier of NY

Postby robocoder on Thu May 25, 2006 11:35 am

Try the HostIP.info Geolocation extension from the Firefox Add-ons site:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/663/

It appears to be newer than the one linked from hostip.info's main page.
User avatar
robocoder
Veteran
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:10 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby bfolkens on Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:40 pm

robocoder wrote:Try the HostIP.info Geolocation extension from the Firefox Add-ons site:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/663/

It appears to be newer than the one linked from hostip.info's main page.


fixed
bfolkens
Site Admin
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:09 am


Return to Hostip.info remote GET/PHP support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests